Step 1

Get Training First

The State of Connecticut requires that the applicant attend an approved course on how to handle and properly shoot a pistol safely. The National Rifle Association's Basics of Pistol Shooting course fulfills the State of Connecticut's minimum training requirements for the Connecticut Pistol Permit, and the Connecticut Handgun Eligibility Certificate as articulated in Connecticut General Statute 29-28(b)(1).
Upon successful completion of the National Rifle Association's Basics of Pistol Shooting course; you will be issued your course certificate and then you can begin your next step.

Step 2

Download Pistol Permit Application & Instructions

You will need to download the application for a State of Connecticut Pistol Permit/Handgun Eligibility Certificate Application (DPS-799-C) and the Connecticut Pistol Permit/Handgun Eligibility Certificate Application Instructions (DPS-769-C). Fill out the application completely. The Pistol Permit Application and its associated instructions are provided to all students who take a course with West Hill Pistol Training in their student packet.

NOTE:
1.) On page one (1) of the application - under the section named "Type of Permit Requested;" you will want to check the box next to "60 Day Temporary State Pistol Permit."
2.) On page four (4) of the application - under the section named "Proof of Training;" you will want to check the box next to "National Rifle Association" and attach the copy of your Basics of Pistol Shooting Certificate to the application.
3.) The application must be signed by you in front of a notary public. DO NOT SIGN IT BEFORE!
NOTE: WEST HILL PISTOL TRAINING PROVIDES NOTARY PUBLIC SERVICES TO STUDENTS FOR THEIR COMPLETED PISTOL PERMIT APPLICATION (DPS-799-C).

Step 4

Submit Completed Paperwork to Municipality

Submit your completed application and fingerprints for review and the criminal background check. Under Connecticut General Statute 29-28a(b); your municipality has eight (8) weeks to review your application and inform you of its decision to approve it or to deny it.

Step 5

60 Day Temporary State Pistol Permit

Upon completing the criminal background check /application process, your First Selectman / Police Chief will issue a 60 Day Temporary State Permit (DPS-11-C). Upon notification by your town, pickup your temporary pistol permit and pay the $70.00 fee to the town with the appropriate form of payment requested by the municipality.

Step 6

Obtain Your State Pistol Permit

Upon receipt of your 60 Day Temporary State Permit (DPS-11-C), you will need to go to one of the Connecticut State Police Photo Pistol Permit locations. Here you will complete the Application for State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers (DPS-46-C); have your photograph taken and then be issued your Connecticut Pistol Permit. The fee for your Connecticut Pistol Permit will be $70.00. You may pay by check / money order (Made out to: Treasurer, State of Connecticut) or cash (Exact amount). The permit is valid for five years and as long as you keep renewing it, you will not have to go through this tedious process again.

You may visit the Connecticut State Police Photo Pistol Permit page for operating hours and locations by clicking below.

Mobirise

Permit Change of Address

A person holding a state or local pistol permit is required to notify the issuing authority within two business days of any change of address. Persons holding state pistol permits may contact SLFU at (860) 685-8290 to update their address. The unit is open during normal business hours Monday through Friday of each week. A change of address may also be filed via E-mail at DPS.Spec.Licensing@po.state.ct.us or by mailing a letter to Department of Public Safety, Special Licensing and Firearms Unit, 1111 Country Club Road, Middletown, CT, 06457. Include your name, permit number, old address and new address.

© Copyright 2021 Robert D Soule Jr - All Rights Reserved